International Lock Standards: A Guide To Forex Trading

Estimated read time 4 min read

As locks⁢ around the world become increasingly more ‌secure, understanding⁢ different international lock​ standards is critical for⁢ consumers, businesses, and government entities alike. Understanding the three major standards – ANSI/BHMA A156.2, VdS, and EN – is essential⁤ for ‌anyone looking to‍ maintain optimal security on their premises. In this article, we⁢ will provide an‍ overview⁣ of these standards and ‌the advantages of ⁢each one.

Overview ‌of Lock ⁢Standards Globally

When‍ it comes to locking devices used‌ for security, not all products are created equal. Different ⁤countries and regions⁢ have different standards ‌that need to be met, and it is important for manufacturers to‍ be aware of the ⁣rules and regulations of the areas in which their ⁢products are intended for ⁣use. There are⁣ organizations such as the ⁢European Association for‌ Security (EAS) and ‍the UL Solutions (ULS) that⁢ have standardized lock test protocols ⁤for their respective regions. In this article, we​ will⁤ review the ⁢different ⁢lock standards around the world.

European Lock Standards

The European Association for​ Security (EAS) is a non-profit organization set up to promote the safety and security of people and assets across Europe.⁣ It has developed standardized lock⁣ test protocols‌ that are recognized by almost all countries in⁣ Europe and ‌are followed by manufacturers of ⁤various ​types of lock products. ‍The tests involve evaluating the strength of locks when they‌ are subject to attack⁤ including turning ​and jiggling,‌ picking, drilling, sawing, ‍and bumping. The tests have to be conducted at the highest⁢ security class,⁤ meaning⁤ that locks have to successfully resist these‌ attack types.

The European standard also includes evaluation of the​ locking system against corrosion and ⁣recognises the need for ⁢pricing that reflects the security offered. The⁣ EAS has also implemented a grading ​system for ⁢locks so that ⁢the security of each lock ‌can be clearly identified.

UL Solutions Lock Standards

UL Solutions (ULS)⁣ is a third-party safety testing and safety⁢ certification ⁢organization ⁢based in the United States. The‌ organization has developed standards ⁣for⁣ locking devices‍ which includes locks for doors, gates, locksets, ⁣and⁢ bi-directional ​locks.⁤ UL solutions‍ test all lock types against turning and jiggling, sawing, drilling, unauthorized key duplications using ⁢a ⁢pick gun, sledgehammer, screwdriver, and other tools. They also consider the safety‍ of the locking device when subjected to high temperatures.

The ULS has also developed a grading ⁢system for their locks which assigns ‍numerical ratings to‌ locks based on how they‍ perform ⁢against ​common attack types. For instance, a Grade 1 lock is one ‌that performs well against all attack types, which means that it provides ⁣the highest ⁤security.

ULC Standards for Locks

The Underwriters Laboratories of Canada (ULC) is a ⁣non-profit ⁢organization ⁣that provides ‌national certification programs​ for emerging safety standards in Canada. This organization tests locks against ⁢a variety ‌of attack methods including turning and jiggling, picking, sawing, drilling, and bumping.

The ‌ULC has set out four classes for locks which are based on the security provided ⁤by these locking systems, with Class 1 locks ⁢providing the highest level of security. In addition, ULC also provides ⁤a ⁢separate grade for deadbolt ​systems which is based on the resistance‌ to ​sawing, drilling, and bypass⁤ attack types.

BHMA⁣ Lock Standards

The ‌Builders Hardware ​Manufacturer​ Association (BHMA)​ is an international not-for-profit ⁤organization dedicated to advancing⁤ best practices for⁣ safety in the⁣ building ‌construction industry. ‍They set out standards​ for⁤ door locks, which‌ includes⁢ tests for strength against attack types, resistance ‌to weather and fire, operability of ⁤the ⁢lock,⁣ and ease of installation.

The⁣ BHMA also assigns locking‍ systems⁣ a security grade based‍ on their performance​ in the tests. Grade 1 locks ⁤offer the highest security protection and are⁢ recommended for doors that​ require a higher level of security ‍such as banks ‍and government buildings.‌

In conclusion, the‌ different international lock standards stringent as they enforce higher levels⁢ of security ‌for locks. ​Manufacturers should be familiar with the ⁤standards that‍ apply to the particular geographical area in which their ⁣locking ‍systems⁣ are intended for use.

You May Also Like

More From Author